Weekend Update: Sick Beach Trip

For the Fourth, JRB and I traveled to Hilton Head Island, SC for a vacation with my parents and some family friends. It was a sick trip (as in really fun and great) until it became as sick trip (as in JRB and I coming down with a stomach virus).

The trip began with a lunch stop at Starland Cafe in Savannah,GA followed by dessert at Back in the Day Bakery. We lusted over the Rosemary Ham and Italian panini, red velvet cupcake, and lavender cookie.

photo

After arriving, JRB and I rode our bikes to the beach, walked, and then got caught in the rain. (As you can see, we probably wouldn’t have gotten caught in the rain if we had paid attention to the sky.)

image

The next day, our FAVORITE holiday, was a blast! We woke up early to go on a bike ride around the island, ate a yummy breakfast, and spent the day on the beach people watching, playing bocce ball, and enjoying each other’s company (when I say each other, I mean mainly the two babies on the trip.)

photo-1

I’m an only child, so I claim “aunt-ship” over all of my friends’ babies. Ergo, this is my niece Livvy Kate. She’s a doll, right?

image-2

I feel bad for the boys in about 15 years (assuming she gets that hair under control).

It was on July 5th that things took a turn for the worst. I got sick on the beach, and JRB followed suit roughly 12 hours later. For the remainder of our trip, we took turns taking swigs of Pepto and Gatorade, taking naps, and sharing our symptoms. These are the only pictures that occurred after we got hit by that despicable stomach bug.

photo

This was at Harbour Town. JRB and I finally resurfaced for (a bland) dinner on Sunday.

image-1

We spent most of our time in the rocking chairs near the bathroom, though.

Happy birthday, ‘Merica!

 

Leave a Reply

