Weekend Update: Brunching and Checkers

How was the weekend??? Did your’s go way too fast like mine did? I thought so. We had a great weekend AT HOME (which I feel is a rarity these days). After work on Friday, I didn’t move myself from the couch until bed time, and It. Was. Wonderful. Then Saturday, after sleeping to an embarrassing time, we brunched…. at Cracker Barrel. You big city people, go ahead and laugh at us. Sorry, we don’t have hip, cool brunchy places. Our selection includes IHOP, Cracker Barrel, and Waffle House. I think we made the right choice.

After sharing blueberry pancakes and drinking a nice, warm mug of coffee, JRB challenged me to a game of checker (rocking chair style). I’m still upset about losing because I was DOMINATING JRB for the entire game. Lack of focus lost me the game.

Image

The weather was fantastic, so we decided to park it (and by park, I mean the local junior high football field. Who really wants to keep up with dogs the whole time?) We loaded up the pups (And they were so so excited. They know good things are coming when their collars go on.), and ended up spending 4-5 hours reading, talking, playing fetch, and soaking up the sun.

Image After a fun morning in Sunday School (I love the one Sunday a quarter when we all bring food. #foodieproblems.), JRB and I napped then hosted my cousin and her family. We ate chicken and rice casserole, green beans, pineapple casserole, buttered croissants, a spinach salad with feta, blueberries, strawberries, and almonds topped with homemade balsamic vinaigrette, and strawberry  cheesecake for dessert. Anyone else hungry? This was also my first time to meet my new baby cousin. Isn’t he handsome?

Image

 Of course, every spare minute was filled with puppy love and How I Met Your Mother because why not?

Happy Monday, loves! Anyone else counting down till Friday?

Leave a Reply

