Actually Healthy Recipe

I had never made quinoa before, so I was a bit worried when I read on the bag that I have to rinse the quinoa to remove the bitter taste. What have I gotten myself into??? But, this recipe was very easy to make, healthy, and Josh approved (so it must be tasty and filling, as well).

I found the recipe on my friend Elizabeth’s blog: In The Loop. Her taste (in all things, not just food) is undeniably awesome, so I felt like I could trust her when she said on her blog post that this recipe was tasty.

Here it is:

Summer Quinoa Bowl

Image

1 cup quinoa, rinsed well in cool water
2 c. vegetable broth
1 cup. (about four ears) of yellow corn kernels, cut from the cob
1 regular tomato, seeded and diced
1/4 c. fresh cilantro, chopped
2 c. baby spinach, chopped
3/4 c. slivered almonds, toasted in oven for a few minutes (I actually left this out simply because I forgot to include it. Whoops!)
3/4 lb. of shrimp (I added this because JRB doesn’t eat meatless meals)
For the lime vinaigrette:
2 limes, juiced
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. honey
1 clove garlic, minced
sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions:

Cook quinoa according to directions on package, using vegetable broth instead of water. Set aside from heat and remove lid.

To make the vinaigrette, start by squeezing the limes into a small bowl. Add salt, pepper, garlic and honey, stirring well. With a fork, slowly pour in the olive oil and whisk well.

Meanwhile, pour a touch of olive oil into a skillet on med-high heat. Lightly coat shrimp with seasoning of your choice (I did cajun spicing to liven it up a bit), and cook until shrimp are slightly pink.

In a bowl, combine the corn, diced tomato, cilantro, spinach and almonds. Add the cooled quinoa, lime vinaigrette and stir.

Serve hot, room temperature, or cold with lime and/or avocado.

Leave a Reply

