I Like Adoption

I came across this video last night while looking through Twitter. Two of my friends posted the link, so I took a look. This video made my heart smile and my eyes water. Even as a little girl I remember saying I wanted to adopt a little girl from China. At that time it was only because I thought they were cute, and they are. Now, however, I still would love the opportunity to adopt (still from China, but pretty much anywhere is great with me!), but my reasons have  changed.

We were all born sinful, fatherless (spiritually speaking), and lost. However, God, by grace, adopted us into his family. We did not deserve his grace and mercy, but he loved us so much that he sent his son Jesus Christ as atonement for our sins so that we have access to Him. Adoption shows the grace and mercy of taking a helpless individual into one’s family, providing for their needs, loving them no matter the ailment or color of their skin, and saving them from a destiny of hardship.

I pray that the Lord gives Josh and me this opportunity one day. I recently told a friend that I would love if my family looked like the United Nations. Give me children of all nationalities! And as you’ll see on this video, that is exactly what this family was told they look like. How beautiful! That is exactly what I think heaven will look like: people of all races, cultures, backgrounds, etc. coming together as God’s children.

New Film Premiere – I Like Adoption. from ILikeGiving.com on Vimeo.

 

“But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.” John: 1: 12

“But when the right time came, God sent his Son, born of a woman, subject to the law. God sent him to buy freedom for us who were slaves to the law, so that he could adopt us as his very own children. And because we are his children, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, prompting us to call out, ‘Abba, Father.'” Genesis 4:4-6

“Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” James 1:27

“And anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf is welcoming me.” Matthew 18:5

Leave a Reply

