Weekend Update: Downton, Miller, and Chex

This week had a lot of Paige time. Now that wrestling season has begun, Josh has been gone a decent bit calling matches. That left me at home Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday nights to fend for myself. Unlike last time I didn’t go into a crafting frenzy. This time I watched a lot of Dowton Abbey. It’s an ultra-dramatic show set in Great Britain during War World I. I definitely recommend it! I also got myself a manicure, did lots of cleaning, and baked some sweet Chex Mix (recipe came from my sweet friend, Elizabeth, and is found below).

Chex Mix does the Tricks

3 cups of rice Chex

3 cups of corn Chex

1 1/2 cups of chopped pretzels or pecans (I did pretzels)

1 1/2 sticks of butter

3/4 cups of brown sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix brown sugar and butter in a sauce pan and bring to a boil for 2 minutes. (Make sure you stir often or it will scorch)
  3. Immediately pour it over the mix that’s on a cookie sheet and DON’T stir.
  4. Bake for 7 minutes, then stir.
  5. Bake for another 5-7 minutes
  6. Enjoy!

 

Other than that I was hanging with my #2 guy, Miller Bierman. The following pictures prove our companionship over the last week.

Miller and I watching Downton

This first one is of us watching Downton in bed. Miller really likes this show as you can tell!IMG_20121206_210737

Sometimes I had to get onto Miller for doing things like this. This week he chewed 2 of my shoes, ate my pantyhose and a cotton ball, and peed on me. You can’t make this stuff up.

IMG_20121208_195035Lastly, this was a present for Miller because 1.) He kept me company/entertained me in Josh’s absence 2.) He needs a good formal look. and 3.) (and mostly this reason) I think it is ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS. I have burst into laughter each time I look at this picture.

Saturday I was in Auburn doing a lot of Christmas shopping with my mom. Then that night Josh and I watched the Heisman Ceremony and the following 30 for 30, You Don’t Know Bo. What great television!!! Every year I find myself in tears during the Heisman Ceremony. I know it’s very weird, but I think being raised in such an athletically-driven home plays a part in why I hardly ever cry during movies/shows but tear up every time I watch Remember the Titans and the Heisman Ceremony. I just LOVE team things and overcoming obstacles. I also was very pleased that several guys were such outspoken, strong Christian men. I think this society needs to see more guys like that!

As far the You Don’t Know Bo…. I was in awe. Being a graduate of Auburn, I obviously think Bo Jackson is the absolute greatest. However, I didn’t realize that he truly is the absolute greatest. I was too young to know anything about him other than just what I’ve heard. I never got the pleasure of watching him play, but good heavens!! Watching the footage and hearing the testimonies of his playing days was incredible. It really is like he’s a tall tale: jumping over Volkswagons, doing backflips in waist-deep water, dunking sticks. It was remarkable. I’m an even bigger Bo fan now! I wish he could suit up and play for Auburn next year.

Leave a Reply

