Christmas: Apartment Style

Yesterday Josh had to be in Phenix City, AL for a wresting match. Literally as I got home at 4, he was leaving (as in we met at our cars). He didn’t get home until after 11. That’s about 7 hours completely by myself (well, minus Miller). What’s a girl to do with 7 whole hours on her hands???? CRAFTS!!!

Josh and I have been debating on what kind of Christmas tree we want: big, small, fake, real, pre-lit, not. The list goes on and on. Finally, I just made a decision, and this is what happened.

That table. New. That tree. New. That fabric. New. I rationalize this by telling myself that this is our FIRST Christmas, and this stuff will be used each year from now on, thus no purchases next year, right? And the table. Oh, that table. I found it at this thrift/consignment store in LaGrange. It has a crinkle finish that I absolutely love! I can guarantee it’ll find a prominent place to rest once Christmas is over.

I’ve also found that I LOVE using things I already have. For instance, I used those candlesticks, ornaments on a previously owned silver platter, and a frame from our room to accent our Christmas table. I also bought a 99 cent bow at WalMart to put on the wreath we used at our wedding. The wreath did have a burlap bow on it, but that burlap bow got made into a tree topper!

What I love about that wreath is that A.) I bought it for $7 for our wedding B.) I added a 99 cent bow C.) I can change out the bow for any occasion D.) It’s EIGHT TOTAL DOLLARS!! Now if you’re a large, full of greenery kind of wreath lover, then my wreath looks pretty wimpy. But I just really like simplicity.

Another craft of mine was pinecone garland. All I did for this was buy a bag of cinnamon scented pinecones ($4) and a spool of ribbon (50 cents) and tied the two together. Below is the result. It’s not flawless like I had hoped, but I’m ok with them for my first try. My pinecone garland is currently strung up under the floating shelf in our bedroom. It makes our room festive and smell really nice!

I ALSO baked homemade chocolate chip cookies. I went ahead and made a crap ton of dough because I’m bringing cookies to our Sunday School party this Saturday (I know. I know. You can’t believe we actually made friends. We can’t either.). But I wanted to sample the dough because the last time I attempted cookies, it didn’t turn out so well. They were really salty! Weird, I know. The verdict is still out on these. They were finished at 10:20, way too late for me to eat them, and so my taste buds and stomach were turned off to sugar. I did have a taste, and they seemed alright. Everyone keep your fingers crossed that they’re good so I can’t quit looking for a good recipe and won’t have to remake them.

After all of my crafts were complete, I found myself extremely exhausted but very full of Christmas cheer. This is rare for me because I typically am a little bit of a Scrooge. I’m not a huge fan of Christmas music or really even Christmas decor, but I’m not sure what has happened. I am ALL ABOUT Christmas this year! My guess is because it’s my first as a Mrs., but I could be wrong….

4 thoughts on “Christmas: Apartment Style

  1. I LOVED reading this. And I am also realizing that you probably have probably HATED this week at school. All I have done is play Christmas music and put up Christmas decorations!!! đŸ™‚ So glad we work together!!!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Update: Cookies and Membership Jackets « Miraculous Maze

  3. Pingback: Weekend Update: Cookies and Membership Jackets « Miraculous Maze

Leave a Reply

