Control?

Pilate therefore said to Him, “You do not speak to me? Do You not know that I have authority to release You, and I have authority to crucify You?” Jesus answered, ” You would have no authority over Me, unless it had been give you from above; for this reason he who delivered Me up to you has the greater  sin.”

John 9:10-11

I read this today in a book my small group is covering. It really struck me because the lesson is all about the names of God. This lesson in particular is covering God’s name El Elyon. This name “designates God as the sovereign ruler of all the universe.” Therefore, it takes its readers through all the different Scriptures showing God as sovereign over things like creation, finances, life and death, healing, fertility, etc.

This particular selection struck me because it shows me that God is even in control over circumstances we perceive we have control over. Pilate told Jesus tht HE has the authority to crucify him, and Jesus was like, “Really, dude? Do you EVEN know who I am? I GAVE you the authority you have.” Yes, God the Father gave Pilate the authority to send His only son Jesus to the cross. And Pilate thought he was special…

How often do I perceive that I am in control of my own circumstances?? My “control” or “power” is only “mine” because it was graciously predestined to be mine. It’s not really mine. It’s all the Lord’s! The only reason I have ANY authority or perceived control is because it came from above. For a control-freak like me, this can be a large gulp to swallow. But when I really think about it, how awesome?? Every thing about me: my struggles and the things “I have under control” are ALL THE LORD’S. When making decisions, living life, working, thinking, etc. God is working through me. He’s sovereign over it all!

I found this very refreshing and calming; hope the same for you!

Leave a Reply

