Weekend Updates: Santa Rosa Beach, Puppy Love, and the Traveling Journal

This weekend was one for the record books, record books of fun that is. Even though JRB and I were apart, I must say this is one of the most fun weekends I’ve had in a long, long time. My best friend Elizabeth had her bachelorette weekend at Santa Rosa Beach, and I am among the lucky ones who got to attend. I’m pretty sure I told every one I know at Callaway Elementary that I was leaving after school to go to the beach. Maybe I was a tad excited…. I left school at 2 and was on the road at 2:30. Even though it took Camilla and I about an hour longer than we expected, our drive was full of fresh conversation. Even if I only could’ve had that conversation, the weekend would’ve been a success to me!

After staying up late Friday night, Saturday was a full day of pool and beach living. Hard life, right?

One interesting thing that happened is that I found this traveling journal in my bag. You guys know I love Today’s Letters, so I got this idea from them. However, this journal is been really fun thing to incorporate into our marriage. It’s a great way to affirm and encourage one another through the written word (my preference, obviously). The funny thing is that my letter in the journal was written by Miller. Who knew he was so smart that he can write? What an impressive pup!

Saturday night the group went to Red Bar, which just so happened to be RIGHT. NEXT. DOOR. Yes, we literally walked out of our door, took a left, and were at Red Bar. I had the stuffed eggplant (I didn’t even know I liked eggplant until a month ago), and it was d-to-the-liscious! Here I am with the blushing (or maybe just sunburned) bride outside of Red Bar.

Meanwhile, Josh was in Birmingham living it up with his friends and the pups. As seen below, Miller is quite adaptable. Last weekend, he played with a Golden Retriver/Lab mix, and now this weekend he fearlessly conquered playing with Girl, a year old Great Dane, and his cousin Luc, a Daschund . From what I understand, they’re best friends for life. Here they are discussing their excitement for the beginning of football season and cooler weather. (Sadly a little fuzzy)


Josh had tons of fun seeing his friends and brother. So much fun that I beat him home….by almost four hours. I was beginning to believe he was never going to make it! But finally he made it home, and we rested from our crazy crazy weekend. It looked a lot like this.

Hooray for a new week with kindergartners, new classes of freshmen at Point, and the one year anniversary of our engagement! C’mon September, Auburn football, and tailgate food!

One thought on “Weekend Updates: Santa Rosa Beach, Puppy Love, and the Traveling Journal

  1. Hi Paige,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blog posts about Santa Rosa Beach to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you 🙂
    Jane

Leave a Reply

