I am Responsible.

I recently began reading this book, and let me just say: Wow. I am barely halfway finished, and it is completely racking my heart and soul. If you haven’t read this book, please please please read it. You won’t be the same.

Except from Kisses From Katie:

But what struck me most about that first phone call with Joyce was what she said to me: “That you for the food, Mommy. Today I am still alive.”

My heart stopped. This little girl, at five years old, is simply thankful to have something to eat so she can stay alive. My mind began to race as I looked at the food piled high in my parents’ kitchen: Joyce is still alive, but so many others are not. They are dying of starvation and preventable, treatable diseases. Why, with all the wealth, technology, and resources that exist in the western world, have we not solved these problems? It is possible for children to live! And yet they are dying by the thousands. While we sit here full and content, everything we ever need right within our reach.

Talk about thought provoking and heart wrenching. This book has challenged and still is challenging me like no other. What in my life shows that I care for those less than me? No, I’m not super wealthy. I’m a newlywed for heaven’s sake. But I’m still an American, which means I have way more than the majority of the world. The last few days my air conditioner has been broken, and I’ve been less than pleased about it. But how many other people around the world go without air conditioning every day? I eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day. How many people in the world go without one, two, or all three of those meals each day? I have a closet full of clothes and shoes, am capaable of showering every day, and sleep in a large, comfortable bed protected from bugs and weather. How many others in the world have no shoes, no shower, and no bed? And what am I doing about it? How do my finances show that I care? How does my time reflect that I care? How do my prayers reflect that I care?

Another except:

The truth is that the 143 million orphaned children and the 11 million who starve to death or die from preventable diseases and the 8.5 million who work as child slaves, prostitutes, or under other horrific conditions and the 2.3 million who live with HIV add up to 164.8 million needy children. And though at first glance that looks like a big number, 2.1 billion people on this earth proclaim to be Christians.

The truth is that if only 8 percent of the Christians would care for one more child, there would not be any statistics left. 

This is the Truth. I have the freedom to believe it. The freedom, the opportunity to do something about it. The truth is that He loves these children just as much as He loves me and now that I know, I am responsible.

_________________________________________________________________

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.” {Luke 12: 48}

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” {James 1: 27}

“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” {Matthew 19: 14}

“Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.” {Matthew 10: 39}

_________________________________________________________________

I hope and pray that this hits you like it has done me. I ask that you examine your own lifestyle and see how you can afford to give up some of your own comforts for the sake of the starving and the poor.

One thought on “I am Responsible.

  1. Pingback: On the Horizon | Miraculous Maze

Leave a Reply

