Something to be Proud Of

I’ve never considered myself to be domestic. Yes, I like food and a clean home, but that doesn’t mean I’m good at either. I’m sure it’s 95 percent that I’m a newlywed, but I’ve really surprised myself at my abilities. Our home has remained clean, and we’ve only missed making the bed ONE time. And I’ve made some pretty mean dinners! It’s funny because I actually told Josh that him telling me I’m pretty and affirming my physical beauty is nice and all, but the thing I’m most insecure about is my cooking. It’s like I know I can follow directions, but for some reason I’m never completely satisfied with the finished product. But lately, I’ve been right proud! What has lead to this change you might ask?? PINTEREST. Much like cellphones, I do not know how clueless wives like me figured out what to cook without it! Here are two of my favorites so far. (Don’t worry, there is zero chance this will turn into a recipe sharing food blog.)

Banana Sushi


Banana Sushi

Ingredients:

1 banana

1 whole wheat tortilla

2 tablespoons of peanut butter (I just guestimated)

1 tablespoon of honey (Once again, I didn’t measure)

1 tablespoon of cinnamon (See the trend? Didn’t measure again.)

A handful of raisons

Directions:

Spread peanut butter and drizzle honey on the whole wheat tortilla

Place peeled banana at the edge of tortilla and roll it up.

Trip the edges of tortilla.

Drizzle more honey on top and sprinkle cinnamon on top.

Cut the banana into bite size sushi bites, and place a raison on top of each piece.

Hashbrown Chicken Casserole

Hashbrown Chicken Casserole

Ingredients:

3 cups frozen shredded hash browns

1 small can of fried onions (Psshh.. I just threw some on!)

cheddar cheese  (We love cheese in the Bierman house)

4-6 (depending on size) cooked chicken breasts, shredded (I used 3 and it was PLENTY!)

1 can 98% fat-free condensed cream of chicken soup

3/4 cup skim milk

1 can low sodium corn

1/2 to 3/4 cup frozen sweet peas

salt to taste (I used Lawry’s seasoning)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Liberally grease (I use pan spray) a 9×13 baking dish and spread the hash browns in it. Then add the onions and toss.

Spread about two handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the onion/hash brown mix. More if you like!

Spread the chicken on top of the cheese and sprinkle with seasoning. I used Lawry’s, but Cavender’s, Montreal Chicken, or even just salt and pepper would be fine.

Combine soup, milk, corn, and peas then pour that mixture over the top of your 9×13 pan and spread it around.

Bake for 30 minutes and then remove from oven. Add another handful of cheese on top and put it back into the oven for 3 minutes, or until the cheese melts. I ran out of cheddar cheese and used mozzarella on top, and it still was great!

Leave a Reply

