A Challenge

{Preface: I think I am the sleepiest person on this Earth. Last Thursday was Chi O’s social, and I didn’t go to bed until 1 a.m. Then Friday night, we got stuck on the Interstate for an hour, and I didn’t get in bed until 1 a.m. Then Chi O formal was Saturday night, and I didn’t go to bed until 1 a.m. To say the least I was one tired puppy. My usual bedtime is anywhere between 10:45- 11:30 p.m. And once I get in bed, I’m asleep. I don’t play around. }

Sunday evening Josh and I were hanging out. He was being a champ and helping me write thank you notes. Well, we decided to take a break and watch some television when we realized Star Wars was on. I am not a huge Star Wars person. In fact, I had never seen a movie until Josh made me watch them last spring. Well, Return of the Jedi was on so we OBVIOUSLY watched it. We’ve also been extremely “college” in our dining lately. Sunday night Josh fixed me cereal for dinner and fixed himself oatmeal. Last night I had a PB&J sandwich (Fun facts: Yesterday was National PB&J Day, and that will be my our new monogram -PBJ) Typical College. Anyways, after my sweet future-hubs fixed me an extravagant dinner of Honey Nut Cheerios, we continued watching the movie. Next thing I know, I hear banging around in the kitchen. It’s now 9:45. I’ve been asleep for a whole hour!! During my nap time Josh finished writing his thank you notes, cleaned up our dinners, unloaded the dishwasher and put the dirty dishes in. Who’s a keeper??? This guy is!

This should've been the first sign that we would last. Taken in Orlando while at FH formal, this photo represents Josh Bierman so well. Little did he know I had never seen a movie at this point! Oopsies!

I know it sounds so silly, but this really blessed my soul! Isn’t it so nice when someone will fix your dinner (even if it is just cereal) and bring it to you? I would’ve been so happy and content with Josh just doing this, but then he even cleaned it up and finished the thank you notes!? Awesome. This got me thinking- What do I do/ can I do to bless others? So often when thinking of this question, the automatic response is to go extravagant. ” Well, I’m going to start a fundraiser for starving kids in Africa!” Awesome. That’s wonderful! Maybe you will, but what about our day-to-day actions. Most of us are college students, so we live with at least one other person. How can you make him/her feel special? How can you make their lives just a little bit easier? Those are the things that speak to people. It’s the every day, mundane tasks that bog people down. Take one of those annoying tasks, like dishes or folding laundry, off of their plate!

So, dear blogosphere, I challenge you. Make your friends, co-workers, roommates, classmates’ lives a little easier. Go the extra mile and fold a load of laundry. My roommates have done this several times for me, and it really is the best! Or maybe fix dinner for them. You could even use your Tigercard money to buy someone’s lunch. Take this challenge, and then let me know how it goes! What responses will you get? What conversations come up? Hmm…maybe the gospel?? Hmm….Let a sister know!

Leave a Reply

