T- 47 DAYS

Did yall know that today marks 47 days until JRB and I get married?? 47 days!!! In the spirit of matrimony, I thought today could be the day I blog on the proposal. Josh’s story will be a little different from mine (just slightly), but guys’ sides usually are.

Set the stage: On Saturday, August 27 I went to Taylor Hamiter’s (the coolest kindergartner I know and a pro flower girl) birthday party. She had lots of sweet, little friends there and those sweet, little friends’ parents were also there. One set of the parents were Taylor and Tamara Teel. Josh and I have known them for a while now, and they are best friends with Trace and Cassie Hamiter. Well, after we left the party, I got a call from Tamara. She told me that she and Taylor had met this sweet college couple that had been going to First Baptist Church in Opelika (where Josh and I attend and are getting married). They wanted to introduce them to Josh and me over dinner on Sunday night, and she asked if we could come. I, of course, said yes and got directions to the house (Taylor’s parents).

Josh and his friend Brady after setting up and practicing our engagement.

Sunday rolls around, and Tamara texts me to tell me that dinner had been moved to 6:30. That was perfect for me because I was exhausted and that gave me an additional 30 minutes of nap time. {I later regretted this nap time because I didn’t shower or do my hair. Had I known I was getting engaged I would’ve tried to look a little better. Oh well, you live and you learn.} When Josh came to pick me up, we both were wearing baby blue shirts. Cool, right? But he said it’d be fine, and we started driving. When we got closer to Taylor’s parents’ house, I began instructing Josh on when and where to turn. Once again, had I known I was getting engaged I probably wouldn’t have done that since he had been there at least 2-3 times already. Whoops!

As we’re driving up, Josh exclaimed, “I see a deer!” and veered off the driveway into this grassy area. I was flipping out because I couldn’t see the deer, but he kept insisting it was huge and was right there. He then told me the deer ran back into the woods, but he kept driving straight. I’m a stickler for punctuality. I LOATHE being late, so when Josh kept driving I started getting onto him. I was like, “Josh! We’re already late, and this is weird. We can’t just drive through their woods!” So he stopped the car, put it in park and got out. I instinctively followed all the while protesting. Finally Josh just goes,” Paige. C’mon. Just walk with me. It’ll be an adventure.” I’d like to say I knew right then that this wasn’t really a dinner with the Teels, but I was extremely naive and fooled so I just obliged.

Side note: Whenever Josh and I would talk about getting engaged I used to always joke with him that he was going to propose in the oddest, most intense way. I told him that I just knew I was going to end up being sweaty and bloody by the end. I mean, the very first time he asked to a fraternity function (it was Farmhouse formal), he wrote a poem and with a knife stuck in in the top of a tree. So I had to the climb a tree to retrieve the note in order to say yes. 

As we’re walking through the woods my leg gets scratched and begins to bleed, thus proving that I would bleed whenever we get engaged. As we come to the end of the woods, I see that there’s a big pond with a dock. On the dock Josh had put a couch, candles (done in orange holders because our first kiss was in FH under orange Christmas lights. He said he was redeeming the kiss since it wasn’t uber romantic.), and flowers (this was the first time he had ever bought me flowers.) We hopped in a canoe (I’m shaking) and Josh paddles us over to the dock. The whole time we’re in the canoe I’m going, “Is this just a normal date? Are you sure?” And he is assuring me that he just wanted to do something nice for me, and it IS just a normal date. Sneaky, sneaky.

Notice the orange candles. Who’s a romancer? Josh is!

My letter. Similar to the one two and a half years ago way up in a tree.

When we get to the dock though, I see a letter folded and stabbed into the side of the dock. (Remember how he asked me to Farmhouse formal??) Well, I begin shaking, ask him if I can take off my Chacos and attempt to read the letter. I did sorta read it, but none of it was making sense. My mind was just racing and all I could think about was how he had told me this was just a normal date and we weren’t getting engaged any time soon. I was trying to talk myself out of it because I didn’t want to let me heart go there and then this actually be just a normal date. BUT I read in the letter, “your Dad made me promise him…” I just gasped and said, “You talked to my Dad??”

This is my “You talked to my Dad?” face.

At that point, Josh took my hands and said some really sweet, sweet stuff. He quoted 1 John 4:9-11:

“In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. 10 In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.11 Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. “

He then said the magic words (while on a knee of course),” Will you marry me?” And I honestly don’t remember saying yes, but I think I did at some point. I stooped down to hug and kiss him and ask him every question imaginable. Then we realized my ring wasn’t on so we did that before we prayed together. I was really afraid he was going to ask me to pray because I knew that if I did I wouldn’t be able to get words out. I was so overwhelmed with excitement and joy and disbelief that my mind was going 90 to  nothing. But in 47 days this sweet, sweet engagement will be over, and we’ll be MARRIED!!

Why yes I will marry you.

Best. Hug. Everrrrrrr.

2 thoughts on “T- 47 DAYS

  1. Pingback: Oh Happy Day | Miraculous Maze

  2. Pingback: 3 Years | Miraculous Maze

Leave a Reply

