Diapers, Funfetti and classic conversations

Every Monday night I, along with this really cool blonde chick, lead a small group through First Baptist Church of Opelika. We’ve been working through the book of Galatians this semester which has been AUsome (really. read it and try to rely on anything other than grace. can’t. do. it.) But this past Monday (birthday eve) we had a BABY SHOWER!!! Before you start thinking I’m pregnant (I’M NOT. I’M NOT. I’M NOT. NOOOOOOOOOO.) we did it for Women’s Hope.

Women’s Hope provides FREE and CONFIDENTIAL services for women who are pregnant and are single, scared and/or considering adoption or abortion. They are a faith-based organization, so they educate women on what an abortion actually is and provide other, better options. They do not refer patients to abortion clinics. For women who choose to keep the baby, they provide parenting classes and have a supplies store. That’s where our small group comes in. They are constantly needing supplies for their store (clothes, diapers, bottles, blankets, diaper bags, crib cushions, etc.). Our group threw a baby shower and bought supplies to give to their store! It was so fun!

I love FUNfetti cupcakes!

I'm an constantly challenged and humbled by these girls. Look at how much broke college kids can do!

Only the coolest girls in Auburn

One thing we did at small group that night was answer questions from a bowl. Basically, we passed around the bowl, drew a question and answered it. It was  great way to get to know one another on a deeper level and occasionally just be silly. A few of the questions were: What have you prayed for the longest? What is the greatest lesson you ever learned? What was your favorite subject in elementary school? If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why? See, it was a good mix of serious and silly. Well, after small group Josh and I decided we would answer them together. (P.s. I LOVE to do things like this. I was always the kid in truth or dare that chose all truths!) This is how some of our conversation went:

P: Who was your first boyfriend?

J: (without hesitating a second) Justin. (Justin is one of Josh’s BFF 4-evers. I knew Josh really loved me when he told me I was getting to Justin’s level. True story.)

P: If you had to eat one food the rest of your life what would it be?

J: Steak. Final answer.

P: When is the last time you cried?

J: I don’t understand the question.

P: If you could be any animal, which would you be and why?

J: A tiger so I could rip people’s faces off. (Yes, this came out of my sweet man’s mouth.)

Later on….

J: If you could be any animal which would you be and why?

P:  A big, fuzzy, furry, purry cat!

J: Paige, you know I’d eat you.

P: No you wouldn’t! We’re in the same family. We’re cats together!

J: I’d get your confused for a squirrel and eat you fast.

Do you need Women’s Hope? Or are you interested in giving to Women’s Hope? Don’t hesitate!

820 Stage Road
Auburn, AL 36830
(334) 502-7000

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday : 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Walk-ins are welcome.
Please call ahead for availability.
Monday-Friday
9-11 a.m. and 1-4 p.m.

24 Hour Hotline
800-395-HELP

3 thoughts on “Diapers, Funfetti and classic conversations

  1. Dakota and I just got back from dropping the items off. They were so SO grateful! And I think were quite surprised that college students did it.

    It sounds like Josh subconsciously likes cats. Tigers are a type of feline! He’s just confused about the small ones, thinking they’re squirrels or whatever.

Leave a Reply

