Pops Rocks

Today is my sweet Papa’s birthday. Using his own words, he’s now a senior-the big 5-6. With age comes wisdom, right? I’m so lucky to have this man in my life because he:

  • Tells the best jokes
  • Laughs all the time
  • Taught me to fish
  • Used to double as my catcher
  • Understands the importance of breakfast
  • Fixes things
  • Serves as best husband and dad

My dad has been such a great example of what I should expect in a husband and father. He is the most caring individual I’ve ever met. He is strong and loves manly things, but doesn’t shy away from heart-to-hearts and hugs. I am incredibly proud to say that BOTH of my parents taught me and disciplined me. It wasn’t a one-man show. My dad often sat me down to see what was going on and took these opportunities to impart wisdom. Before I met Josh, he’d often tell me what guys I need to look for and what characteristics to run from in a guy. I am so thankful he did this because don’t dads know best when it comes to other guys?!

He also serves as an incredible husband to my mom. It takes a very strong, patient, and humble man to come alongside someone like my mom. While wonderful and awesome, my mom’s occupation isn’t one to take lightly. Being a coach (and now athletic director) is more than just a job; it’s a lifestyle. My dad has fully embraced his role in this lifestyle. He sees that during season, time together involves a gym or a field. For as long as I remember, my dad has been attending BRHS sporting events. I’m sure there are times when he’d rather be at home, eating dinner, and having the “normal” weekday, but many times he picks up his chair and heads to the ball field. I am so proud to say my dad understands and works toward being the best husband he can be as seen in Ephesians 5: 25-30:

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. After all, no one ever hated his own body, but feeds and cares for it, just as Christ does the church- for we are members of his body.”

Happy birthday, Pops!! Love you oh so much!

One thought on “Pops Rocks

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update: Cold Feet, Luau, and CCCC | Miraculous Maze

Leave a Reply

